Sunday, January 20, 2013

Review - The VV Inn Series by C.J. Ellisson

Title: The VV Inn Series (Vampire Vacation)
Author: C.J. Ellisson
Source: Self Purchase
Genre: Urban Fantasy/thriller
Length: 3 Novels - Approx 900 pgs in 3 books
Reviewed by Douglas C. Meeks

The above covers may remind some of you of Bewitched, Darrin and Samantha were never as hot & passionate as Viv and Rafe

The VV Inn Series consists of:
Vampire Vacation (The V V Inn, Book 1)
The Hunt (The V V Inn, Book 2)
Big Game (The V V Inn, Book 3)


The main character Vivian owns a resort for the undead; her supernatural ability to project physical illusions has created the perfect vacation spot—a dark, isolated Alaskan hideaway where visitors can have their wildest fantasies come true. Her capacity for drama, manipulation, and control are put to the test in the first three volumes of the series.

In Vampire Vacation (The V V Inn, Book 1), she discovers a corpse in a locked guestroom minutes before the next arrivals. Always cool-headed, Rafe hides the body; convinced he and Vivian can find the culprit without disturbing their guests, but juggling the demands of their customers while tracking a killer isn't easy.

The second in the series, The Hunt (The V V Inn, Book 2), opens with seven vampires and seven werewolves preparing to hunt a supernatural criminal across the cold, vast grounds of the resort. Things quickly begin to spiral out of control as the prey exhibits a cunning, and deadly, instinct for survival.

Third in the series, Big Game (The V V Inn, Book 3) promises two fast-paced adventures, one involving the shooting of a werewolf at the Alaskan resort and another as we follow our loving couple through the challenges of tracking exactly who suspects Vivian’s most well-guarded secret.




This series was a bit of a puzzle for me at first; let me fill you in right up front. The first book starts with finding a corpse of a murdered man who they did not even know was at the Inn. The book then proceeds from there in a disjointed jumble of sex and information that while needed (the info, the sex is a personal preference:) leaves the reader wondering if this book is worth reading. Fortunately, I kept reading and magically, it got better, then it got even better and by the time I finished book #1 two things had happened. It was magically transformed into a 5 Star book and I want book #2 NOW!

The two main characters Vivian and Rafe are powerful and intelligent, plus they are crazy for each other …. Passionately so ….. all the time (no they don’t act on it all the time but they are a matched pair sexually). I should mention that the power that Vivian has is basically outlawed by the “council” and would probably result in her death if her secret gets out so much of the action addresses keeping that secret.

This series has a good cast of characters who are usually fleshed out quite nicely, Jon who is pretty close to the 3rd main character is a werewolf and that part of the story changes as the books go along so I won’t spend a lot of time on it.

This series of three books (and a 4th to come later this year) are exceptional in taking you from a beginning story to what appears to be heading to an epic battle (I could be totally wrong) in the next book but I love that there are not cliffhanger endings and for me personally the “action” is all m/f and no triads either. I usually find that those overdone sexual situations detract from the books I read and seldom add anything (seldom does not mean never).

After you get through that first 20% of the first book the action and quality never lets up and continues at a 4-5 Star level of action, passion, and a bit of romance.

There is a bit of something for everyone, mystery, thrillers, betrayal and survival in seemingly impossible situations (I am a sucker for that stuff).

I don’t have enough time to cover all the subplots and the cast of characters, but I should mention that the point of view changes rapidly at some times which lets you see the situations from more than 1 viewpoint and adds to the books in my opinion but some people don’t like it.

This is one of those reviews where there is so much ground to cover I just can’t do anything but tell you to get these books, the whole set cost me about $6 on Amazon and was a steal for the entertainment value they gave me.


This is a 5 Star series, its gets off to a poor start with the first 20-30% of Vampire Vacation (The V V Inn, Book 1) but DO NOT GIVE UP on these books, this turns into a 5 Star series that you will not want to miss. So let me call this 5 Stars with the caveat that you have to suffer through that bit of craziness at the start of book 1, it’s worth it …. Trust me.

Your Reviewer

View all my reviews


  1. I fell in love with C.J's writing style with the Vampire Vacation series. It is not only mentally stimulating, for the written word... it's visually stimulating. The reader can envision scenes as they take place.

    I literally become spell bound as I read her books and I know I'm a bear when someone dares to interrupt my reading time.

    It's wonderful to read and watch an author grow in their craft. C.J. continues to spin her magical yarns with a new series, the first book 'Vanilla on Top' was released about a week ago. Its story isn't like the VV series, but you're transported into the world of Heather and Tony from the first chapter as you watch their budding relationship grow. Maybe you'll get a chance to pick it up and give it a whirl too.

  2. I have to say I know C.j. has written Vanilla on Top as her new book. But the VV INN series is my absolute favorite of hers. Rafe an VIV are great characters and so hot together.

  3. I can't wait for her to write the 4th book (last one maybe?) I have mentioned it to her a time or 2 but I think the fact that she is having such success with the other books may impact when she gets to it :( I must say to echo others, this series just kept getting better as it went on reflecting her increased level of talent as a writer.

  4. Thanks for the kind words! I definitely learned to write better as the story progresses. :-)

    To answer Doug's question-- The next book will close the exiting story arc, but there will be additional stand alone books released afterward, with perhaps new story arcs connecting them.

    I've also planned at least four prequel novels/novellas for readers to learn more about the characters *before* they came to the inn.

    Thanks so much for your time on the review, Doug. I really appreciate it!

  5. I have read all the books in this series and want more!!! I need to know what happens to all the characters. For me was one book after another because I could wait to see what was going on, but now I have to wait a bit :(


This is an award free blog. Thank you for all of your comments.